Common Alchemical Symbols

Planetary metals were  or "ruled" by one of the seven planets known by the ancient alchemists. And although they occasionally have a symbol of their own, they were usually symbolized by the planet's own symbol. Uranus, Neptune, and Pluto were not yet discovered during the time that Alchemy was commonly practiced. Many modern alchemists consider them as representative of Uranium, Neptunium and Plutonium, respectively.

Sun - Gold                                        Jupiter - Tin

Moon - Silver                                   Mercury - Mercury

Venus - Copper                                Saturn - Lead

Mars - Iron

The Four Planet Elements

         Fire                                      Water                                  Earth                                 Air

The 12 Core Alchemical processes

Decomposition through Calcination (Aries )

Decomposition through Digestion (Leo )

Decomposition through Fermentation/Putrefaction (Capricorn)

Modification through Congelation/Coagulation (Taurus )

Modification through Fixation (Gemini )

Modification through Ceration (Sagittarius )

Separation through Distillation (Virgo )

Separation through Sublimation (Libra )

Separation through Filtration (Scorpio )

Union through Solution (Cancer )

Union Multiplication (Aquarius )

Union Projection (Pisces )

The Qualities

The Qualities assign the Signs into Quadruplicities, groups of four.

Cardinal signs are associated with initiation and creativity. They are Aries, Cancer, Libra and Capricorn.
Fixed signs are associated with focus, individuality and determination. They are Taurus, Leo, Scorpio and Aquarius.
Mutable signs are associated with resourcefulness, holism and adaptability. They are Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius and Pisces.

Alchemist Library